Steampunk Ring Handcrafted Jewelry: Behind The Scenes at Inspired by Elizabeth

                                                               Steampunk Rings

Mothers Ring

Steampunk Ring. Custom Made from Inspired by Elizabeth.

What I love most about creating Steampunk jewelry, particularly Steampunk rings, is the uniqueness of every piece. Every watch movement tells a story. They all come to me with a unique tale to tell. These stories are quietly revealed in their brand names, their watch faces and the intricate text written inside the actual watch itself waiting to be revealed. I often wonder about the person who once wore the watch itself. Was the watch a gift, was it a piece they held dear or was it easily discarded by the posh that have too many trinkets to call one sacred?  Was this watch worn during the flapper era, worn by a woman or minority voting for the first time, or worn by a Don Draper-esqe man in the 1960’s? This is all so fascinating to me and this is why I continue to make these unique rings.

The watch movements I use in creating these rings are all well known, high quality brands such as gruen, bulova, elgin and more. I do not use any of the lower brand name watch pieces (timex, citizen) that come a dime a dozen. I carefully inspect each piece making sure it is stable for use in my jewelry. Some pieces have already been removed from the watch while others I remove myself. It is like opening a present. While I have a good idea of what I will find inside I am always in awe of the uniqueness of some of these watch pieces.

Even the watch faces, or dials if you will, can vary greatly. Some have intricate embossed designs, roman numerals or more traditionally numbers, gold or brass hands (some still attached), varying shapes and sizes from long rectangles, squares ovals and even circles. Some of the watch faces are medal while others, often older pocket watch faces, are porcelain and very delicate in nature. I remove the watch faces before making the ring. I usually sell these to private buyer or online with watch movements that are either not up to par with my standards or are in styles or colors that I do not use. Needless to say I am very picky with the materials I choose to use to create your fabulous ring.

Steampunk Jewelry Watch Faces

Watch Faces

I am also very picky in the band I choose to create your ring with. I generally use four different styles. One is an antique silver filigree ring. These are sealed and are very durable. These are not the thin flimsy rings associated with some other Steampunk rings. I have had mine for years now and I love it. The second is the same type of filigree ring only antique brass. The third is a solid band ring with an adjustment (gap) hidden in the front. This works great for sizes 6-12 and for those that do not want a gap in the back of their ring. The adjustment here is hidden in the front under the watch movement. This is the type I use when creating rings for men. Lastly I also have a fabulous two tiered sterling silver band.

As if the watch movement variations and band types weren’t enough variation for you I also use amazing Swarovski Crystals to add color and uniqueness to your ring. Many of my rings are already made and ready to purchase but I also create Custom Steampunk Rings as well. These are great if you have a favorite color, want to include your birthstones, or even create a mother’s ring.

I hope you have found this peak into the inner workings of my business enjoyable. I love what I do and I feel very blessed to be able to create such intricate work for you to enjoy and give as gifts.  Now leave a comment and let me know which is your favorite!

Picture                                                                         SHOP NOW

 
About inspiredbyelizabeth

We are a premier jewelry company that creates vintage inspired jewelry with a contemporary twist. Think Audrey Hepburn meets Katy Perry! We believe all women are beautiful just the way they are. Inspired by Elizabeth was created in 2010 and we have not stopped rolling since! We began as a startup store with a few items on Etsy and grew into our very own home here on the web. We are using this excitement and momentum to catapult us into our next endeavor - bringing our jewelry into boutiques around the world! All of our creations are handcrafted in the USA with the utmost care for high quality materials for YOU our amazing customer. Every time you reach into your jewelry box and pull out one of our creations - because you will again and again – we want you to feel all the thought and work that goes into each individual piece. We create for you our customers – ok and a bit for ourselves because whats the point of making jewelry if you can’t keep a little for yourself. Come join our email list to stay in the mix and checkout our blog for fabulous articles on steampunk culture, vintage style, weddings, and behind the scenes content from yours truly. So pull up a chair and stay for awhile you are always welcome here at Inspired by Elizabeth!
This entry was posted in Announcements, Steampunk Creations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

